B. R. Dionysius was the founding Director of the Queensland Poetry Festival. He has written six poetry collections, Universal Andalusia, his third poetry collection was shortlisted for the C. J. Dennis Prize for Poetry in 2006. He won the 2009 Max Harris Poetry Award. A chapbook, 'The Negativity Bin' was published by PressPress in 2010. His latest chapbook, 'The Curious Noise of History' was released by Picaro Press in 2011. He recently won the Whitmore Press Manuscript Prize 2011. He lives in Ipswich, Queensland where he teaches English and writes sonnets.