J. S. Harry has published five volumes of poetry. Her first book, The Deer Under the Skin (1971), was awarded the Harri Jones Memorial Prize and chosen as the Poetry Society's Book of the Year. A Dandelion for Van Gogh, her third collection, was shortlisted for the National Book Council Awards in 1985 and the Adelaide Festival Poetry Awards in 1986. The title poem of her fourth book, The Life on the Water and the Life Beneath (1995) won the PEN International Lyne Phillips Poetry Prize. Her Selected Poems was co-winner of the NSW Premier's 1996 Kenneth Slessor Poetry Award. The Life on Water and The Life Beneath is her most recent single collection.