Fellowship Shortlisted poets-Image-Red Room Poetry-2021.png

Recognising the achievements of contemporary Australian poets

Each year, the Fellowship is awarded to a previously commissioned poet to recognise their achievements and foster their poetic and professional development.

Valued at $10,000, this opportunity encourages poets to undertake an intensive period of creative development involving a range of commissions, residency, recordings and publication outcomes. Previous recipients of the Red Room Poetry Fellowship include Ellen van Neerven (2021), Michelle Cahill (2020), Jeanine Leane (2019), the late Candy Royalle (2018) and Ali Cobby Eckermann (2017).

This year, the judges are Charmaine Papertalk Green, Andy Jackson and Rachael Mead.

Applications are now open for the 2022 Fellowship, closing 5pm, Monday 14 February 2022. Applicants will be notified by the end of March 2022.

The 2022 Fellow receives

  • $5000 poetic stipend “no strings”
  • $1000 commission to create a suite of poems inspired by an existing Red Room Poetry project
  • A two-week residency at Bundanon Trust with local workshops (Monday 25 July – Sunday 7 August 2022)
  • Travel assistance
  • Opportunity to film or present a public address during the year-long Fellowship

Apply now

Apply for the 2022 Fellowship below before 5pm, Monday 14 February - 2022 Red Room Poetry Fellowship Application

Before commencing your application, please ensure you have read the Terms and Conditions.